Of Service: The Perfect Example

Ben

Some may be turned off that I talk about my faith so much in relation to my work. The reality is that my faith is the true essence of who I am, so I do it unashamed and am unapologetic about it.  My life of service is because I follow the greatest example that ever lived – Jesus Christ.

The Easter season always reminds me of the ultimate sacrifice that any man has ever given – the sacrifice of One’s own life to save others.  I love this season because I believe it is a time for new life to spring forth, for breakthrough and resurrection of God’s purpose in our lives.

One of the most common practices during this season – foot washing-  serves as a reminder to us as leader’s – whether believers or not – that in order to effectively lead, we must be good at serving.  We must always remember to not view ourselves as better than those we are leading.

We can glean an important lesson from the lesson taught by Jesus to His disciples when he said:

“Most assuredly, I say to you, a servant is not greater than his master; nor is he who is sent greater than he who sent him.”

How important that lesson is.  In the context of leading an organization or movement, we must always remember that the people we are serving must come first. Sometimes we get so caught up in the process that we lose sight of our mission, our purpose.  At the end of the day, we are called to serve, and our work must reflect that.

This past weekend, my brother-in-law and others from the Men’s Ministry visited the Albuquerque Rescue Mission to take part in their foot washing service. I was moved by his testimony about the experience.  In response to a conversation he had with a man he met that day who had lost his home that he, his wife and three children were living, this is what Ben said:

“He told me that when times get tough just speak to God and he will see you out.I thought to myself if a man in his situation has faith in God we should all have faith. Over these past few months I have asked God just to use me to help people. I know there is a calling on the purpose of my life.”

So this Easter season I ask my readers, what are you doing to serve in order to understand God’s purpose for your life?  Even if you are a non-Christian, what inspires you to serve day after day.  I’ve worked with people who amaze me, whose daily activities are full of Grace, yet they are devout atheists.  I see God in their work – even if they don’t acknowledge Him. Through their service, the purpose for their life is revealed.

The greatest example I can think of on how to live a purpose driven life is that displayed to us by Jesus.  If He understood that He must serve in order to be an effective leader and to fulfill the purpose for His life, then I know without a shadow of a doubt that I must serve as well.

Whether it be feet washing, stepping out the office to actually meet your organization’s clients or volunteering at a place that serves those less fortunate than you, I challenge you to step out this Spring to serve and to find your purpose.

Leave a Reply

