Sometimes You Must Lead in Order to Serve

A few days ago, Pastor Rick Warren made the following comment on Twitter that has had me thinking for the past few days.

“Everyone wants to be a leader.Few want to be a servant. God isn’t looking for servant leaders. He’s looking for servants.”

I didn’t retweet this post because I don’t agree with it. I did add it to my favorites as I pondered this idea of us being called to be servants, but yet I felt Pastor Warren was implying we weren’t called to be leaders.

In my opinion, leaders are born through service.  It has been my experience that anytime I agree to humbly serve, I seem to find myself in a leadership role or being viewed as a leader.  Perhaps it is my opinion and my experience that have me questioning Pastor Warren’s comment.

From a biblical standpoint, Jesus was the greatest example of a servant leader I can think of.  He humbly served to carry out His father’s will, but everywhere He went, people flocked to Him.  In fact, I believe He stood out so greatly because He was a leader who served.

I can only dream of a world where our leaders truly served.  If everyone who has committed their life to careers in public service actually approached their jobs as servant leaders, things like a basic human right to healthcare wouldn’t get stalled on the voting block.  Being a servant leader is an attribute that I admired about the then Senator Obama.  He seemed to be a natural born leader who understood the importance of service.

As we celebrate Black History Month, I can only thank God for the many servant leaders who led the way and fought for our civil rights.  I thank God that he called them to be servant leaders.

So to Pastor Warren I would say God is calling us to be servants and leaders.  He is calling us to be the salt of the earth and to serve everyone.  If we truly understand our purpose, we will know where He wants us to lead.

One response to “Sometimes You Must Lead in Order to Serve

  1. Hi there,

    I’ve just retweeted you as @DFWSL, representing the Dallas Fort Worth (Texas) Servant Leader community. I really resonate with what you say here: “It has been my experience that anytime I agree to humbly serve, I seem to find myself in a leadership role or being viewed as a leader. ” Raised with a strong volunteering ethic, I’ve found this to be the truth in my life.

    Thank you for putting words to it,

    Suzanne

Leave a Reply

